gone again…

Hello I’m back, I know I know my last blog said something about goals. And something about me blogging once a week…. blah blah blah.  Well that is a goal and that is still on my heart. Unfortunately, for the last 6 weeks I have been taking some grad classes which has consumed my time. I really don’t like using that word but it is probably the truth. One of my classes was awesome and the other not so awesome, but I got A’s in both so I suppose I am a happy camper.

I am glad I took the classes because I have learned a few things about myself and a few things I was supposed to learn. I needed to take these classes so that I would not loose my teaching license. It’s something they make you do, if you teach, which I suppose is good if you send your children to public schools (knowing that the teachers are always learning). Every few years you get this treacherous letter in the mail from TSPC (teacher standards and practices) saying you either need to get your masters or do some grad credits within a certain amount of time (and this happens every 3 years). For me I am not teaching right now, well not in a “school” per se. I honestly don’t know if I ever see myself teaching in a public school again. Not because I am against this profession or anything but because God has blessed me with a husband and some sweet children. He has called me to something more because of the gifts he has blessed me with.

It says in Titus 2:3 “Older women likewise are to be reverent in behavior, not slanderers or slaves to much wine. They are to teach what is good, and train up the young women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled, pure, working at home, kind and submissive to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be reviled.” – I honestly enjoy staying at home and I embrace my title as a Stay at home mom.

Proverbs 31: 27 “She looks well to the ways of her household”

I feel like in the last 6 weeks I have had some troubles at “looking well in the ways of my household/family”. Although the time I have spent was on something most people see as important, it was time nonetheless that took me away from my home obligations. My children got bits and pieces of me but not all of me, and so did my husband. Many nap times were spent reading many many books and writing a ton. Many evenings I was up until midnight composing papers, which I haven’t done since college. Due to staying up so late, it was often hard for me to want to rise up at all in the morning.

(aren’t they sweet??? How could I not want to spend all of my daytime hours with these girls?)

The classes did suck up a ton of time which I can never get back, but I have learned a few things about myself:

I am very capable of blogging once a week if not more.

I am also able to read more than once thought. (This has been a constant struggle for me since having children).

I have a new perspective for students who I minister too and how much time classes do take.

I understand different ways people interpret text due to their surrounding environment, which should be helpful when leading bible studies.

And I really do love reading and learning. I love engaging my mind.

So there you have it. That’s what I have been up to, with a few other things squeezed in as well.

Leave a Reply

