perspective from 2011

So have you ever been on google earth? Well if you have not, google earth is pretty cool and in my mind kind of freaky too. But anyhow, we will stick to the pretty cool side of things. How it works is you plug in an address and hit enter. All of a sudden you go from looking at the earth to the picture zeroing in on your location. In my crazy mind, while looking at this visual happening I also envision a zooming noise taking place. Woooooosh! One that starts slowly and picks ups speed until I am zeroed in (like I said before) on what ever the address/object is you would like to see.

My life is a lot like that at times. I’m looking at what I think is the big picture, but then all of a sudden when I hit the enter button my perspective changes and I am zoomed into the actual thing I needed to see all along. God gives us people to help us at times to point  us to that perspective. This is why having friends who love Jesus is so very important. They help us see the actual location on the world map when all we can see is the big globe. They are able to see the address we have been searching for.

So with all of that said, tonight I had a conversation with a friend I treasure a ton and am so thankful God has blessed me with. She currently lives as a missionary, somewhere in the world. (A lot of detail eh? It’s just to keep her cute self safe). In our conversation we talked about the things we are struggling with and the ways we see the Lord at work. We got on the topic of comparisons. Oh man do I compare. Ugh. So in so has a house and I, well don’t. So in so gets to buy new clothing all of the time and I well don’t. Those folks get to eat out so much. They have a dishwasher. Their parents live close and can watch the kids. It gets so bad at times that I try and find ways to fix my dissatisfied heart. Well I’ll buy this thing. Or I deserve a Starbucks right now because I feel this way. Or if I play my cards just right, then I may be satisfied.  blah blah blah. Oh my heart is so weak and ugly.

It’s so funny that I do this as I am sure other adults do this as well. I am always telling Ava, my three year old, not to worry about what her sister has or doesn’t have and to be concerned with her own actions. I myself need to be concerned with what the Lord has given me and be satisfied in the gifts that I have been freely given. I need not be concerned with what others have or don’t have and what I have in comparison or don’t have. So getting back to speaking with my friend, she shared with me this lovely little nugget of a verse:

 Bless those who persecute you; bless and do not curse. Rejoice with those who rejoice; mourn with those who mourn.  Live in harmony with one another. Do not be proud, but be willing to associate with people of low position. Do not be conceited. – Romans 12:14-16

 So much easier to just Rejoice with those who rejoice. Rejoice with the fact that the Lord has given them certain things and

 

Ecclesiastes 2:24-26   24 A person can do nothing better than to eat and drink and find satisfaction in their own toil. This too, I see, is from the hand of God, 25 for without him, who can eat or find enjoyment? 26 To the person who pleases him, God gives wisdom, knowledge and happiness, but to the sinner he gives the task of gathering and storing up wealth to hand it over to the one who pleases God. This too is meaningless, a chasing after the wind.

Leave a Reply

